gotcha. well, you say that.

How did I not hear you coming?
How could I not see you early enough to prevent the sly attack?
Protect myself?

It was working.
You were gone.
I was confident.
I had hope and energy and pop.

I had love for myself.
Finally.

I don’t need you, you know.
Your grip is tight and frightening, but not permanent.
I can fend you off without the need for soldiers or heavy artillery.

I can fend you off without the need for alcohol or intense pharmaceuticals.

I am vulnerable.
I am small.
I am sometimes broken and bleeding.

But I do have grace.
I do have love.
I am strong.

I have pop.

I just get lost.

You have nothing but the power you feel from holding me.
Enjoy it while it lasts.

Leave a Reply

