my body is not mine.

my body is not mine.
i glance down,
and see your piano fingers
tracing my breast;
breathe in your scent,
trembling as i taste
your lips on my neck.

my places are not mine.
i go to the square
and i see her face,
and her face
and you’re there,
too.  but i turn away at the sight,
i can’t be there with [you].

i must avoid;
the leaves,
the trees,
the bench,
the oval,
the stars,
my bed.

the waves and smell of the sea are mine.
and all i have left.
i go to the waves;
and you’re not there.
but it is mine and i am glad;
and it is okay
that i am alone.

Leave a Reply

